ASHENDEN (1991) A 4-Part BBC Series.


ASHENDEN (1991) A 4-Part BBC Series.

Note: never had a video or dvd release.
Based on the influential spy novel of the same name by W. Somerset Maugham, which in turn was based on his own experience working with British intelligence in WWI. Alex Jennings stars as John Ashenden with Joss Ackland, Ian Bannon, Fiona Mollison, and Jason Isaacs in recurring roles.

01 The Dark Woman
02 The Traitor
03 Mr Harrington's Washing
04 The Hairless Mexican

Series Cast
Alex Jennings ... John Ashenden
Fiona Mollison ... Sarah
Joss Ackland ... Cumming
Ian Bannen ... R
Harriet Walter ... Giulia Lazzari
Rene Auberjonois ... John Quincy Harrington
Christopher Baines ... Gomez
Terence Bayler ... Military Chief
Alan Bennett ... Grantly Caypor
Jason Isaacs ... Andrew Lehman
Robert Lang ... Sir Timothy Semple
Alfred Molina ... Carmona

Format: NTSC on DVD-R multi-region '0'(free) so will play worldwide.
Quality: 8/10 (video quality) completely uncut
Aspect: 4:3 ratio (i.e. not Widescreen)
Source: vhs recordings of the original airing on BBC1.
Runtime: 55x4 = 220 minutes.
No commercials
Simple menus
All credits
Presentation: full size double dvd case with case cover and printed discs.